Plinky Plonks, Joy Victoria.

18 Jul

FROM Cy Quick

I have been ignoring that invitation to click on the link to the Plinky Prompts site. But the quite moment of inactivity arrived when curiosity lowered my resistance. Here is the text of the pitch, to save your clicking it for yourself:

Do you ever think “Ugh, I’d totally write a new blog post, if I just had something to say?” Or maybe, “I’m sick and tired of writer’s block but I don’t know what to do about it!”

We’ve all been there — those days when the light bulb seems dim, if not burned out. To give you a little creative push and get that writerly mojo flowing again, we’ve added a new service called Plinky.com.

Each weekday, Plinky provides a prompt — like a question or a challenge — and you type in an answer. To keep it interesting, prompts are a mixed bag of fun commands (“Write a haiku about the last meal you ate”) to more thoughtful questions (“What is your favorite summer memory?”)

To get started, sign up for a new account at Plinky. Then, add your WordPress.com blog to your Plinky account, which will let you share your answer. We’re excited to see what you’ll create, and we hope to feature some of the best Plinky answers on WordPress.com. But we can’t feature your Plinky posts without your help: You’ll need to add a “Plinky” tag to your blog post, so that it appears on the Plinky tag page.

-Joy Victoria

Seldom have I had such a disturbing suggestion, or invitation, slipped across at me. The most off-putting bit of the pitch is “prompts are a mixed bag of fun commands… to more thoughtful questions”.

You spotted it! That word, FUN…

 Yikes! No! Please! Not some ‘bubbly’ PR-person’s idea of fun! Anything but that! Fun is for girls!

And yet, this reaction might be unworthy of me. After all, there are plenty of people to whom Plinky Plonks could be the bees kinky knee-bags filled with potent pollen. Yes, I am a brilliant writer, never lost for a word, but some poor souls…

…and another thing. That word SUBSCRIBE… Ah, there’s the rub. It’s like engagement, or marriage… shudder-making or WHAT?

One Response to “Plinky Plonks, Joy Victoria.”

  1. Vincent July 18, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

    Uurgh! I HATE the word “fun”! Don’t get me wrong – I love the CONCEPT – it’s just that WORD. “Fun-sized” – it’s SMALL – where’s the FUN in THAT??? And “Fun for everyone” – I seriously DOUBT it.

    And as far as needing ideas is concerned – I have TOO MANY (on the rare occasions I need one – I just dredge a piece up from the lower reaches of my columns and do a REWRITE – something even the PROS do!)

Leave a Reply

