Sadie, Desert Island Risks.

18 Jul

FROM Cy Quick

Our Girl Friday (U.S. title The Adventures of Sadie) is a 1953 comedy film starring Joan Collins, George Cole, Kenneth More and Robertson Hare. The lucky characters were cast away on a desert island. The three men decided to compete for the lady’s favours. Joan looked so yummy in those days! 

I saw the movie in the cinema in 1953 when I was 12 or 13. It was quite amusing in an “everybody has to earn a living” sort of way. The team did their best. It was on a satellite channel here recently. The character played by Robertson Hare said (and I have never forgotten it) “Hoist on my own petard!”

If only we knew exactly why my modest mind suddenly spat out a number of alternative phrases, we might have a much better idea of how unchallenging life was for Adam and Eve, before that nasty snake in the long white robes cast thorns and thistles around. They were:

Tempted by, and caught in, my own trap.

Smacked in the kisser with my own kipper.

Made to look a fool contravening my own rule.

Poked in the paunch with my own walking stick.

Swiped round the napper with my own bag of swag.

I bother with this stuff because I never learned a useful trade. However, another day tomorrow looms, with its fairly exciting opportunities to click that never-to-be-underestimated Delete button.

Hey! I wonder whether Plinky Plonks is as bad as this. Not really possible I suppose?

One Response to “Sadie, Desert Island Risks.”

  1. Vincent July 18, 2010 at 3:38 pm #

    I LOVE those five alternatives to “Hoist…” Very creative, Cy!

Leave a Reply

