Sheridon Street… a REAL offshore radio hero.

4 Aug

FROM Jay:

Radio Caroline Memories is a site posted by Sheridon Street. He is clearly not an anorak because, at the age of 23, in 1966, having obtained his ham radio license, he managed to get a job on Caroline as a Transmitter engineer, and was taken off on the last tender on 14 August 1967.

He then joined Redifon, the transmitter division of Rediffusion, along with another engineer from Caroline South. He is clearly not the best writer in the world but tells an interesting tale from his vantage point behind the scenes.

Like Vincent, he has also retired to Thailand. His UK call sign is G3VFU. A link to his site can be found under Radio links on the Sumpnado Sidebar…

Sheridon writes:

I have always said the guys who got the best gigs in the sixties were born during the war, or by 1945 at the latest. I was a bit too young to get in at a meaningful time.

The age of adulthood was still 21 and my parents made it clear that the police would be called in if I attempted to join the pirates. I can’t remember when it was lowered to 18. Enjoy the memories.

The sixties was always the most professional, interesting, and best financed and organized pirate era.

-Jay

One Response to “Sheridon Street… a REAL offshore radio hero.”

  1. Vincent August 4, 2011 at 11:47 am #

    Accounts as to when the age of majority was lowered from 21 to 18 VARY, between 1/1/70 – to sometime in ’71. I don’t recall WHEN it was, but it robbed me of MY “coming of age” party, since it happened AFTER I hit 18 – but BEFORE I reached 21. Grrrr!

    I had the chance of BECOMING a Radio Caroline DJ in the ’70s – but I had just gotten married and was going The Family Way – big mistake, as it turned out. I had to make do with running a weekly discotheque in the music room above the Fountains Abbey pub, in Paddington.

    Where would I be today, if I hadn’t met Carrie…?

Leave a Reply

