Alfie: Road Thoughts #3: Answer songs!

8 Aug

I am still wending my merry way from Peterborough to Huntingdon every morning for work (it’s now week 19 of my 7 week contract!) and passing that somewhat dreary 40 minute trip listening to Wonderful Radio Alfie 88.1FM. As I’ve explained previously this comprises my MP3 player set to “random play” and hooked up to one of those little 10 metre range FM transmitters, playing through my car stereo.

Today the first song played was “Sweet Home Alabama” by Lynryd Skynyrd which I recognised as belonging to that odd musical category known as “Answer Songs” because they came into being solely as a response to a previous song. The particular track mentioned was a somewhat annoyed reply to “Southern Man” by Neil Young which slagged off Redneck racism in the cotton states of the USA, including Alabama!

Having recognised an example of this genre and knowing that there are hundreds of others I tried to think of some! And (remembering that I was concentrating on my driving too) I came up with exactly……TWO – and one of those I couldn’t remember the title or the artiste of! THAT was the response song to Lesley Gore’s “It’s my party..”

The other which I DID remember the details of was the response to the weird and wacky “They’re coming to take me away ha ha!” by the anonymous “Napoleon XIV” in 1966 and I was aware that there exists (although I don’t remember hearing it) “I’m happy they took you away” by a similarly anonymous but inevitable, Josephine XV”.

So, having failed miserably at that, I tried to think of as yet unwritten Answer Songs to whatever came out of the speakers. Again, flat failure until………..

Just as I was pulling into my parking place a track came on that gave me two reasons for celebration!

Firstly, it was a song that seemed to me to be crying out for a response.

Secondly, the reply that I thought of gave me a happy reassurance that, at age 58, my dirty mind is as fully functional and filthy as it ever was!

So, what was the song?

It was by Carly Simon and it has the glorious title “Why does your love hurt so much?”

Too easy!

I’m sure there are many more of that sort…… so over to you!

Alfie

2 Responses to “Alfie: Road Thoughts #3: Answer songs!”

  1. Cy Quick August 8, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

    Thanks, Alfie, for taking time out of your schedule of hard-work to bring in an interesting new issue. If only I had been taking a note over the decades, I could come up with, probably, about half a dozen Answer Songs. They are mostly in the Country genre I suspect. That Okie From Muskogee (or something)… was that an answer or a prompt?

  2. Toby Shaw August 11, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    Judy’s Turn To Cry

Leave a Reply

